skip navigation

Women's Swimming & Diving

Gallaudet swim teams ready for 2019 NEAC championships at Cazenovia this weekend

Gallaudet swim teams ready for 2019 NEAC championships at Cazenovia this weekend

CAZENOVIA, N.Y. - The Gallaudet men's and women's swimming & diving teams will head north this weekend for the 2019 North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) championships (Feb. 15-17) at Cazenovia College in the Schneeweiss Athletic Complex.

The preliminary rounds will begin each day at 10 a.m., followed by the championship round races starting at 6 p.m. except on Sunday, Feb. 17, when the championship rounds will begin at 4:45 p.m. The three-day championships will also be livestreamed and can be viewed at the following link:

GU's women's swimming and diving team finished 2-7 overall this year. Last year, the Bison finished the three-day championship meet in fourth place after accumulating 310 points in 20 events. Cazenovia won its fourth consecutive NEAC championship in 2018 with 706 points. Cedar Crest College took second place with 467 points while Wells College (368) was third followed by Gallaudet and SUNY Cobleskill (156).

Gallaudet's men's swimming and diving team went 2-6 overall during the 2018-19 regular season. At the 2018 NEAC championships the Bison finished in third place with a total of 379 points in 20 events. SUNY Cobleskill defended its title with 498 points, the third in four seasons for the Fighting Tigers. Sophomore Ben Sealts (Ottawa, Ohio) took home 2018 NEAC Men's Swimmer of the Year and 2018 NEAC Men's Rookie of the Year. GU head coach Larry Curran was named the 2018 NEAC Men's Swimming & Diving Coach of the Year.

Gallaudet last won a NEAC swimming championship in 2014 when the Bison men's team won their third title. GU men's titles earned came in 2010-11, 2011-12 and 2013-14. The Gallaudet women's team has one NEAC title (2010-11).

This will mark the fifth time Cazenovia has hosted the NEAC Championships since swimming and diving was adopted as a conference sport in 2009-10. This year's meet will include five schools; Cazenovia, Cedar Crest, Gallaudet, SUNY Cobleskill and Wells.

Also see: