skip navigation

Women's Swimming & Diving

Bison edge out Ferrum in women's swim meet, 92-90

Bison edge out Ferrum in women's swim meet, 92-90

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Behind a phenomenal performance by sophomore Alexandra Polivanchuk (Orebro, Sweden), the Gallaudet University women’s swimming team defeated non-conference opponent Ferrum College in a tightly contested meet on Saturday at the Field House pool by a score of 92-90. The win is the first for Gallaudet first-year head coach Larry Curran.

Polivanchuk, the reigning NEAC Swimmer of the Year, won three of the meet’s 12 events on the afternoon for Gallaudet (1-3). She won the 200-yard individual medley, finishing over nine seconds ahead of the next competitor with a time of 2:25.18. She also took the top spot in the 100 butterfly with a time on 1:04.66. Polivanchuk finished the meet’s individual events by winning the 100 backstroke, posting a time of 1:18.44.

Junior Lisa van der Mark (Mijnsheerenland, The Netherlands), and freshmen Brianna Stroud-Williams (Tucker, Ga.) and Paige Foreman (Albuquerque, N.M.) also turned in impressive performances in the contest. Van der Mark bettered her 100 fly from 1:55.99 to 1:49.48 and recorded a season best time of 1:36.75 in the 100 breaststroke. Stroud-Williams bettered her 200 freestyle from 2:32.99 to 2:28.46 and established a new personal best in the 500 freestyle with a time of 6:38.36. Foreman bettered her 200 IM from 3:13.59 to 3:07.32 and improved her 100 butterfly from 1:46.25 to 1:44.44.

Gallaudet's depth helped the Bison secure key team points and eventually the win as Ferrum (0-3) only features seven swimmers on its roster.

Ferrum won nine of the 12 events and was led by freshman Jess Rowsey and sophomore Anneleisse Alvarez. Rowsey was first in the 50 freestyle (27.34), 100 free (59.40) and 200 free (2:21.14). Alvarez took first-place honors in the 500 free (5:57.44) and 1,000 free (12:26.34).

The team will next travel to Towson, Md., on Saturday, Nov. 17, to participate in a non-conference double dual meet against Goucher College and Arcadia University at 1 p.m.