skip navigation

Women's Swimming & Diving

Gallaudet women's swimmers collect six All-NEAC honors

Gallaudet women's swimmers collect six All-NEAC honors

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) released its 2013 All-Conference Swimming and Diving Teams recently and Gallaudet University grabbed six spots on three different women’s teams. Five different Bison women's swimmers earned all-conference honors.

A swimmer needs to place in first, second or third in an event at the NEAC championships to earn all-conference status. The 2013 NEAC swimming and diving championships were held Feb. 15-17, on the campus of SUNY Cobleskill. Gallaudet finished fourth overall at this year’s championships.

Sophomore Alexandra Polivanchuk (Oreboro, Sweden) earned two first team honors as she was first in the 200-yard individual medley and the 100-yard butterfly for the second year in a row. She was also a member of the 200, 400-yard medley relays, that both placed third overall to earn third team honors. Polivanchuck swam the 200 IM and the 100 fly in 2:23.95 and 1:03.79, respectively. Polivanchuk was last year's NEAC Swimmer of the Year as she earned three All-NEAC first team honors and one third team honor.

Junior Katie Giles (Gaithersburg, Md.) earned second team honors in the 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 2:57.71 just ahead of teammate and fellow junior Valerie Farr (Fremont, Calif.) who was third when she touched the wall in 3:01.32. Giles and Farr were also members of the 200, 400 medley relay third-place teams. Freshman Liv Polzin (Frederick, Md.) was the fourth member of the 400 medley relay and freshman Brianna Stroud-Williams (Tucker, Ga.) was the fourth member of the 200 medley relay.

Polivanchuk, Giles, Farr and Polzin finished the 400-yard medley relay with a time of 5:04.36.  The team of Stroud-Williams, Farr, Polivanchuk and Giles finished the 200-yard medley relay in 2:09.29.

Cazenovia College swimmer Mackenzy Nutter was selected as the NEAC Swimmer of the Year. Wells College swimmer Hilary Feudale was selected as the NEAC Rookie of the Year and Express coach Patricia George took home NEAC Coach of the Year for Wells.

Also see:

2013 Gallaudet University Women's Swimming and Diving All-NEAC Honorees

Alexandra Polivanchuk headshot  

Katie Giles headshot         Valerie Farr headshot

All-NEAC First Team
(100 butterfly, 200 IM)
All-NEAC Third Team
(200, 400 medley relay)

All-NEAC Second Team
(200 breaststroke)
All-NEAC Third Team
(200, 400 medley relay)

All-NEAC Third Team
(200 breaststroke,
200, 400 medley relay)

Liv Polzin headshot
        Brianna Stroud-Williams headshot

All-NEAC Third Team
(400 medley relay)

        All-NEAC Third Team
(200 medley relay)