skip navigation

Gallaudet's run in Helmet Bowl III comes to a close in semifinal round

Helmet Bowl III Final Four graphic - Thank You Fans image with GU Bison logo and a photo of Gallaudet fans with the Helmet Bowl logo in the lower lefthand corner.

WASHINGTON - Gallaudet University's run in Helmet Bowl III presented by Helmet Tracker came to a close Monday afternoon as the Bison lost their semifinal round matchup against Nebraska Kearney Lopers, 53 percent to 47 percent.

Nebraska Kearney, the No. 11 seed in the West Region, will go up against University of Louisville, the No. 5 seed in the North Region, in the Helmet Bowl national championship round. The Cardinals took down Dickinson College, the defending Helmet Bowl champions and top seed in the East Region, 52 percent to 48 percent in the other semifinal matchup. The final poll will close on Monday, Jan. 13, at 1 p.m. (EST).

"We want to thank all of our fans and supporters for their daily voting this past month as we made a run in Helmet Bowl III. We wouldn't of made it as far as we did without everyone's help. The entire Gallaudet Bison Nation should be proud of being national semifinalists," said Gallaudet Associate Athletic Director for Communications Sam Atkinson

Gallaudet's helmet won its conference (Eastern Collegiate Football Conference) for a third straight year and was seeded second in the South Region. In the first round, GU dispatched No. 15 seed Austin College Kangaroos (61 percent to 39 percent). In the second round, Gallaudet took down No. 9 seed Ole Miss from the Southeastern Conference (SEC) by the margin of 56 percent to 44 percent. In the third round, GU defeated No. 4 seed University of Richmond by the tally of 52 percent to 48 percent. In the quarterfinal round, Gallaudet topped St. Thomas University (Fla.) by the margin of 51 percent to 49 percent.

Gallaudet won Helmet Bowl I, two years ago, and reached the "Sweet 16" round last year before losing to Lafayette College.


  • Gallaudet was the second-leading vote-getter between the Final Four teams
  • A Division I or II team will claim the Helmet Bowl championship
  • The previous two Helmet Bowl champions hailed from Division III

Also see: